dried_herbs_essential_oils

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

New Sweeps Daily at CashNet Sweepstakes!
Featured in Alltop

Contest Alley

Pegasus at the Plow by Patrick Walker - Review & Giveaway

And the winner is…. Ed!  Thanks, Ed, for being a longtime visitor.  Hope you like the book!

I swore I’d never do it. When I started carp(e) libris reviews, I swore I wouldn’t review a book that was self-published. After all, the risk is great. Sure, there are some award-winning self-published books out there, but it just seemed a gamble. So when I got an email from the wife of a poet, a woman who published her husband’s work because she so believed in it,   curiosity got the best of me and I checked the author’s website. After reading a couple of his poems online, I thought, “What is carp(e) libris reviews for, anyway, if not to discover writers we might otherwise never hear of?” I wasn’t sorry. Patrick Walker is an excellent poet with over 35 years of poetry writing to share.

Pegasus at the Plow
is a poetry collection with a truly unique voice. The style is most decidedly classical, and although you can somehow envision a dashing Robin Hood reciting them to his Maid Marian, the subject matter is often ironically modern. I really enjoyed the melding of old and new; how many poems of his did I read wondering how they’d be set to music? Yes, it would have to be to the sounds of a lute and a drum, methinks. (Oh, gosh. Did I just say “methinks”?) A wonderful feature of this book is the artwork, done by Patrick’s talented wife Virginia Cody, who he refers to as a force of nature. The sketches throughout complement the poetry, making the book as a whole a desirable addition to the poet-lover’s collection.

If you’re a poetry lover and you’d like to experience this book firsthand, I have an autographed copy that Patrick Walker was gracious enough to send along for one of you. Just follow the rules below.

3 Ways to Win
:

1.) Leave a comment telling me if you usually read poetry, and if so, who are your favorites?

2.) Email subscribers are entered into this and all future giveaways, for as long as their subscription is active. Simply place your email address in the little white box at the top of my sidebar on the right. (Please make sure to verify your Feedburner subscription by responding to the email they send you. If you don’t receive it, check your junk mail. Only verified subscriptions are entered for all the giveaways.)

3.) Blog about this giveaway on your blog with a link back to this post. Come back and leave me a Comment with a link to your blog post.

Do all three, and you’ve got three entries to win! You have until midnight EST on Friday, August 8, 2008, to enter.

49 comments to Pegasus at the Plow by Patrick Walker - Review & Giveaway

  1. Louise A Brouillette
    August 5th, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Very nice

  2. Nancy
    August 5th, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I read poetry from time to time. Some of my favorite poets include Kali Dakos, Robert Frost, e.e. cummings,and haiku written by numerous Japanese poets. Thanks for the opportunity to win a new book. Patrick Walker and his illustrator and wife Virginia Cody sound like a formidable literary team!

  3. Chris F
    August 5th, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    I love poetry especially when they made dozens of movies trying to replicate such great work like Edgar Allen Poe!

  4. adrienne gordon
    August 5th, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    I don’t

  5. Clifton Wade
    August 5th, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    I don’t care for poetry - but I might like this!

  6. sandy
    August 5th, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    very nice- i love poetry

  7. Gina Stratos
    August 5th, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    Grew up w/poetry. Love Anne Sexton.
    [email protected]

  8. Desmond
    August 5th, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Sure–I like A. R. Ammons and Albert Goldbarth especially.

  9. christopher h
    August 5th, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    i usually don’t read much poetry

  10. Mary @ Adventures in Mommyland
    August 5th, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry, but I like Robert Frost. Great giveaway, thanks!

  11. Anne
    August 5th, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I love poetry. I do read poetry and it just so happens that my Grandmother is my favourite poet. But I do enjoy some Robert Frost as well.

  12. ruth
    August 5th, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    I enjoy poetry, especially Walt Whitman. I did a research project and learned a great deal from this and developed an appreciation for his poems. Thanks for this lovely giveaway.

  13. Cindi
    August 5th, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Hello! I adore poetry! A few of my favorite poets are: Willa Cather, Maya Angelou and Willa Cather. When you put poetry with wonderful illustrations, so much the better! Please enter me in your drawing. I really appreciate it! Many thanks, Cindi

  14. Cindi
    August 5th, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I put Willa Cather twice. Sorry! My third favorite is Albert Camus. Thanks, Cindi

  15. krystal deblasio
    August 5th, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry but my favorite poet is sylvia plath.

  16. Kathleen
    August 5th, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry, although I’d have to say that Robert Frost is my favorite… “Nothing Gold Can Stay” is just beautiful.

    I also like the poetry by one of my creative writing teachers- Barbara Daniels- although I’m clearly biased :)

  17. Roger Keeney
    August 6th, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Poetry has been a trusted companion and faithful friend in many troubled times, from Sanberg to Poe, I havefound few I have not appreciated.

  18. Free Books - 6 August 2008 < Rat’s Reading
    August 6th, 2008 at 3:10 am

    [...] Patrick Walker’s Pegasus at the Plow from Carp(e) Libris Reviews, deadline 8 August. [...]

  19. Susan C
    August 6th, 2008 at 8:14 am

    I rarely read poetry, but when i do, I like the romantic poetry of Elizabeth Barrett Browning.

  20. vicky boackle
    August 6th, 2008 at 10:09 am

    i am not a big poetry reader but this could be a start.

  21. Lora
    August 6th, 2008 at 10:09 am

    I love poetry (both to read, and to write!).

    Some of my favorites are Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost and Edgar Allen Poe.

    Please enter me in the drawing.

  22. Angela J
    August 6th, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I read poetry now and then, tried to memorize “100 Favorite Poems” when I was a pre-teen and got to about 20!

  23. sarah
    August 6th, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry but I’m looking for something to read with my husband in bed before we go to sleep.

  24. Liz
    August 6th, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    I love the cover of this book and I also love poetry. Thank you for the contest.

  25. mark
    August 6th, 2008 at 7:37 pm

    never read poetry. Good chance to start now.

  26. Linda Moeller
    August 6th, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I read some poetry. Robert Frost is best!

  27. Leigh
    August 6th, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    How did I never connect that dkMommy spot is also yours? You do an AMAZING job on both, I would never have guessed that 1 person did both. When do you sleep? You are a blogging machine, because BOTH blogs have posts with thought and research.

    Okay, on to the answers lol My favorite book of poetry is Jewel’s first book (yep, the singer). My copy from my teen years is well dog-eared and stained from coffee. I think I spent too much time on a 10 page essay regarding Robert Frost and his work to enjoy him anymore, which is sad.

  28. Elizabeth M.
    August 7th, 2008 at 5:25 am

    Poetry isn’t something that I seek out and read but I enjoy it when I come across some in a magazine or book, etc. I also very much enjoy writing poetry.

  29. Jan Evans
    August 7th, 2008 at 8:24 am

    sounds great

  30. michelle rosborough
    August 7th, 2008 at 10:40 am

    no

  31. Michelle Y
    August 7th, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I do read poetry and I’m quite fond of Whitman, Frost, and a little Browning;)

  32. Laurie
    August 8th, 2008 at 1:32 am

    No, don’t usually read poetry, hard to find something I like.

  33. Felicia Lockamy
    August 8th, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I do enjoy poetry, my daughter actually had a poem published in high school. Thank you

  34. Sydney Mathis
    August 8th, 2008 at 2:52 am

    I enjoy poetry and write artistically. My favorite contemporary poet is Gary Snyder, but I like reading a variety of styles.

  35. Sharon Jones
    August 8th, 2008 at 10:39 am

    I DO…and my absolute favorite is Robert Frost!
    THANKS

  36. missy h
    August 8th, 2008 at 11:24 am

    its’s so sad because poetry is not a popular as it used to be. There was a time that people memorized multiple poems. Now people seem to memorized multiple rap songs.

  37. Kathy Conley
    August 8th, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I don’t usually read poetry, but love to read and would like to try something new. My favorite is Browning.

  38. Desiree
    August 8th, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry, but this book sounds very interesting ;)

  39. Anita Yancey
    August 8th, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    I use to read poetry all the time, but it’s been awhile. Some of my favorites are Walt Whitman, Edgar Allen Poe. Poe’s Annabel Lee is my very favorite. It’s sad but I love it. Please enter me.

  40. Donna Hunt
    August 8th, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    I read poetry from time to time. My favorite poet is Robert Frost. Thank you for the contest!

  41. kathy pease
    August 8th, 2008 at 2:30 pm

    i dont read poetry but my daughter like to write some :)

  42. Buddy Garrett
    August 8th, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    I don’t usually read poetry. Sometimes I read old poets like Walt Whitman, Robert Frost or Edgar Allan Poe.

  43. Pamela White
    August 8th, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    I know more Shel Silverstein
    poems and mother goose than adult poetry. I have a 500 best poems collection that I read sometimes but cannot recite. I would love to be able to read more adult poetry and expand my horizons.

  44. Stephen Alexander
    August 8th, 2008 at 5:02 pm

    Not really a often.

  45. Ed Nemmers
    August 8th, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Pablo Neruda

  46. john pratt
    August 8th, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    please enter me. thanks in advance if i win and i hope all of your days are blessed.

  47. Laura
    August 8th, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I like epic poetry. I read the classics in university and they really made an impression on me.

  48. Diana Dang
    August 8th, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    I’m not a poetry person to be honest. But I don’t mind them. =)

  49. Lily Kwan
    August 9th, 2008 at 2:06 am

    I usually don’t read poetry but am interested in reading more of it.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>