dried_herbs_essential_oils

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

New Sweeps Daily at CashNet Sweepstakes!
Featured in Alltop

Contest Alley

Bone Strings by Anne Coray - Book Review & Giveaway


Poet Anne Coray was born and raised in Alaska. Her book of poetry, Bone Strings, reflects not only the beauty and grandeur that haunts anyone who has even seen a picture of the state, it presents the harshness and disquietude of Alaskan nature as well.

Bone Strings reads with a graceful rhythm, smooth and melodic. However, the poetry is often quite the opposite, describing the things that happen in nature we humans wish didn’t occur–like watching the wildlife channel and always hoping to see the rabbit escape the jaws of the wolf. Coray speaks from the vantage point of one who is well acquainted with all that is Alaska and its wilderness, and one who loves and honors it as well.

For the reader who loves the great outdoors and stands in awe of its complexities, its gentle beauty as well as its unforgiving hardness, Bone Strings will satisfy your urge to experience it all through poetry. I have one copy of Bone Strings to give away to a reader chosen at random. To win, enter here before midnight, Thursday June 12, 2008.

3 Ways to Win

1.) Leave a comment telling me something about your views on Alaska. Have you been there? Do you want to visit? Or do you live there? (Something more than “I want this book” is kindly suggested.) If the randomly chosen winner doesn’t reply to my email telling them they’ve won, I often choose the #2 winner based on their comment.

2.) or Subscribers are automatically entered into this and all future giveaways. Just enter your email address in the little white box on the upper part of the right hand column. (Please make sure to verify your Feedburner subscription by responding to the email they send you. If you don’t receive it, check your junk mail.)

3.) or Blog about this giveaway on your blog with a link back.

If you do all three, you have three entries to win.

Published by Scarlet Tanager Books.

81 comments to Bone Strings by Anne Coray - Book Review & Giveaway

  1. Books and Magazines Blog » Archive » Bone Strings by Anne Coray - Book Review & Giveaway
    June 9th, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    [...] Original post by Diane [...]

  2. bethany canfield
    June 9th, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    Oh, count me in for this one please!!

    I have never been to alaska, but I actually have a lot of extended family that is from there and lives there. I will go one day when my kiddos are a little older and we could trek around and do fun things.

    This one looks good!I love poetry!

  3. susan varney
    June 9th, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    have not had the pleasure

  4. Michelle Hohertz
    June 9th, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    I’ve always longed to visit Alaska. I’ve seen pictures of it since I was little and it looks pristine and gorgeous!

  5. Gina Stratos
    June 9th, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    I know that Alaska’s state motto is, “North to the Future.”
    gkstratos @yahoo.com

  6. Bone Strings by Anne Coray | Contests 4 Moms
    June 9th, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    [...] Where: carp(e) libris reviews [...]

  7. Mariel Teschlog
    June 9th, 2008 at 5:45 pm

    My good friend is a ballerina who just returned from a tour in Alaska..her descriptions were so beautiful and I’d love to see it for myself!

  8. ruth
    June 9th, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Visiting Alaska would be a memorable experience. Incredible scenery which appeals to me greatly.

  9. Sara DMS
    June 9th, 2008 at 7:57 pm

    I visited Alaska for a week in high school and would LOVE to return with my husband someday. My favorite memory is of hiking up a glacier — I wonder how much of it is left today??

  10. Cindi
    June 9th, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Good Evening! What a lovely looking and sounding book. I have seen family and friend’s pictures from Alaskan cruises.
    My favorite ones are usually of the moose they spot. Apparently, this is not as frequent as I thought! My friend’s husband used to be taken by seaplane in a remote Alaskan area where he would
    fly fish. My in-laws brought us a beautiful hand chopper from Alaska. Yes, nature can be cruel! We just found a hole beyond our fence where baby rabbits had drowned from all of the rain we are still getting. I don’t like to fly, so I will probably never see Alaska, other than through the eyes of someone else. Thanks for the marvelous book drawing. Cindi

  11. Kathryn
    June 9th, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    You asked your readers if the lived in or desired to visit Alaska. Well…for as long as I could remember, I thought the absolute perfect adventure would be to have unlimited funds and unlimited time to spend exploring Alaska. There was ONE time I actually got asked to accompany a friend to Alaska…however, within a week of being asked, I’d gotten “directed” by the Lord to go to Romania. This turned out to be one of many many trips back and forth to Eastern Europe. Needless to say, I went to Romania. The offer to go to Alaska has never been repeated. Yet, that is still a dream :)

  12. Laureen
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:12 pm

    I totally would like to go there sometime. I sat next to a woman on a plane once who lived there and told me about it and it sounded quite enticing.

  13. Theresa N
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I’d love to visit Alaska someday.

  14. mark
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    never been there but would like to go.

  15. sunnyislandbreezes.com » Blog Archive » North to Alaska
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    [...] displays the contrasting sides of Alaska.  You can read more about this book and its author at carp(e) libris reviews.  You can also enter to win this book while you’re [...]

  16. Nancy
    June 9th, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    I love Alaska. It’s beauty is breathtaking. I hope the opportunity to return is in my future. I wrote a post about your giveaway and linked back to this article. Thank you for the giveaway. What a bonus - Alaska and poetry all in one!

  17. Mary @ Adventures in Mommyland
    June 9th, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    I would love to go there, but haven’t before. I’d love to see glaciers, bears, and aurora borealis. Great giveaway, thanks!

  18. Mary @ Adventures in Mommyland
    June 9th, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Blogged ya:
    http://mommyland512.blogspot.com/2008/06/carpe-libris-is-giving-away-copy-of.html
    Thanks again!

  19. Phillip Fry
    June 9th, 2008 at 10:58 pm

    I would love to go to Alaska!

  20. Melissa Reeder
    June 9th, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    My parents took a cruise to Alaska last year. The pictures that they brought back with them are beautiful. Hopefully, someday I can visit Alaska myself. Thanks!

  21. Sarah @ pussreboots
    June 9th, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    I’ve posted your contest here and I subscribe through Google Reader.

    I visited Alaska on a cruise ship back in the 1980s. Earlier this year my husband even tried to get a job in Juneau but it didn’t pan out. I wrote about my memories of the cruise back in January.

  22. gautami tripathy
    June 9th, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I have never been to Alaska as I live in India. I have read so much about in numerous books and have a secret desire to visit it some day. However, until I do, I think reading about it has to do.

    I would very much like to win this book as I deeply like poetry and write a lot of it too.

    And I have blogged about it here:

    Giveaway post

  23. Carol Ezovski
    June 9th, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    We went to Alaska several years ago. Flew into Anchorage and then drove from there up to Fairbanks. Denali Park and Portage Glacier were highlights. July 16, we leave on a cruise for Alaska’s Inside Passage. I love Alaska!

    I blogged you here AND I subscribed (do you think I want to win this book??)
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/2008/06/carpe-libris-reviews-win-book-bone.html

  24. Tara R
    June 10th, 2008 at 1:11 am

    I’ve never been to Alaska but I sure would like to someday! I think an Alaskan cruise would be super fun.

  25. Roger Keeney
    June 10th, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Alaska is truly beautiful though somewhat rigourous, and I look forwardto returning there once again.

  26. SYLVIA BELLE
    June 10th, 2008 at 9:42 am

    I think Alaska is beautiful

  27. Jeff M. Miller
    June 10th, 2008 at 10:01 am

    My wife and I lived in Alaska for three years, and I quickly learned it was not the place for this Texas boy.

    Between the snow and the loooong nights, I really didn’t have a very good time during the winter.

    However, summer in Alaska was glorious. Long days, not too hot, not humid. Taking walks in the park at 1 AM. Pretty cool.

    I do think the state has some unmatched beauty. It truly is the last American frontier.

    I DO hope to go back and visit someday. We still have some great friends up there.

  28. Desmond
    June 10th, 2008 at 10:10 am

    I’ve always wanted to see Alaska; it seems to be quite the popular cruise destination lately.

  29. sarah
    June 10th, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I’d love to go to Alaska to experience the long days and nights.

  30. Tarah
    June 10th, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    I’ve never been but I was just saying the other day I’d love to visit. I want to see the Northern Lights so badly!

  31. Sharon Jones
    June 10th, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    My folks took a trip up the Canadian coast to Alaska. They traveled a lot, but the pictures they brought home struck me. It is my dream vacation to go where they went…Honestly, if I had only one choice to go anywhere…this is where it would be…with my family…wow!

  32. Shawnee
    June 10th, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I lived in Alaska many, many years. It is beautiful there. Humm, I guess everyone knows Alaska is the largest state but to put it in perspective, if you sat Alaska down on the continental United States it would just about fit from top to bottom and from coast to coast.

  33. Ivan Girl
    June 10th, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I love the outdoors that is why I got engaged in mountainclimbing. I love to see and feel nature - giving me inner peace. :)

    I’ve never to Alaska for I live in Asia. I have heard the outdoors is fantastic there.

  34. stevie
    June 11th, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Thought about moving there and also about getting one of those summer “fishing jobs” that I seen advertised all over campus when I was in college but I just never made it over there. Would love to visit in the summer but don’t know if I could hack it living all year around.

  35. Elizabeth Mays
    June 11th, 2008 at 7:19 am

    I don’t know much about Alaska except for what I see in movies, tv and books. It looks like an incredibly beautiful place to visit and I really hope to take a cruise there with my husband within the next ten years. It seems like it has such unspoiled wide open panoramic beauty.

  36. Crystal Gleason
    June 11th, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Looks good!

  37. Ken
    June 11th, 2008 at 10:50 am

    This sweepstakes has been featured on Sweepstakes Advantage, http://www.sweepsadvantage.com. The Web’s Largest Directory of Free Online Sweepstakes. Good Luck to Everyone!

  38. Stephanie G.
    June 11th, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Would love to live there!

  39. Carolyn
    June 11th, 2008 at 11:42 am

    I have always been fascinated with Alaska. I guess it is something that makes me feel a pioneer spirit. I have never been, but would love to go on a cruise there someday.

  40. Carla Cui
    June 11th, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    I love poetry so this would be great!

  41. Linda Pinto
    June 11th, 2008 at 12:13 pm

    I have visited Alaska twice and want to go there again. It is such a beautiful state. It is also very large and can’t be seen in one trip. I love it there.

  42. Sherry Hall
    June 11th, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I unfortunately have never had the opportunity or the funds to do much traveling. My way of “exploring” was to lose myself in a great book. I would love to experience Alaska through the words & thoughts of Anne Coray.
    Thank-you for the chance to win it. Even if I don’t win, I am sure it a copy will end up on beside table.

  43. Kathy Conley
    June 11th, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    I would love to visit Alaska for the natural beauty, but haven’t been able to afford the trip yet!

  44. Marion
    June 11th, 2008 at 2:25 pm

    I have always wanted to go to Alaska. My parents went and loved it so now my desire is even stronger!

  45. Margaret Snyder
    June 11th, 2008 at 4:47 pm

    I have never been to Alaska…yet! My husband and I have plans to someday take an Alaskan cruise or at least that is my hope! It’s nice to be able to post this as it makes it seem a little more real that it really might happen one day.

  46. S
    June 11th, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I went to Alaska a few years ago in the summertime - it was beautiful, but I wish I could have seen it in the midst of winter - I hope to go back soon

  47. Ed Nemmers
    June 11th, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I have alwaya wanted to travel to Alaska.

  48. Kimberly B.
    June 11th, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    I’ve never been to Alaska, but my parents have done the Alaskan cruise thing and really enjoyed it! I’d love to visit there some day.

  49. Darlene Thompson
    June 11th, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I imagine Alaska to have the most beautiful, rarely touched, natural & rugged landscape of all the United States. I would love to see it with my own eyes.

  50. TheElementary
    June 11th, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I have never been to Alaska. Sometimes the best way to get to know a place is through raw poetry.
    I read somewhere that Alaska and Russia are only three miles apart. This astonishes me. It really shouldn’t since I look at world maps all the time, but it does because I never think of Alaska and Russia the same way geographically or emotionally.
    If I had that book of poetry I feel I would connect better with this place that seems so remote and beautiful.
    This is a very generous offer. Thanks for the chance.

  51. Crystal Gleason
    June 11th, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Looks great! I want to go to Alaska SO bad. It looks beautiful.

  52. marybeth i.
    June 11th, 2008 at 10:10 pm

    I have never been to Alsaska but would LOVE to go someday

  53. Kara Poulios
    June 11th, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    I’d love to go to Alaska, especially on a cruise! Maybe someday… Great site!

  54. Liz
    June 11th, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    North to Alaska….I want to do this!!

  55. kristi blackstone
    June 12th, 2008 at 12:39 am

    I’ve never been to Alaska but it’s one gorgeous place I’ve heard and one of the places I want to see so bad on the list!!!!

  56. Angela
    June 12th, 2008 at 1:55 am

    I actually had a pen pal growing up who worked on a fishing boat during the summers with his family.. needless to say he didnt live to see his 17th birthday and I’ve not been so friendly with alaska every since..

    I blogged your contest on Prize-A-Tron too!
    http://www.prizeatron.com

  57. Cindy
    June 12th, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Never been to Alaska, would love to visit.

  58. Janet
    June 12th, 2008 at 6:40 am

    Alaska looks like a nice place to visit!id like 2 go fishing there and sightseeing.ty 4 the contest!

  59. sarah woods
    June 12th, 2008 at 9:32 am

    Alaska; from Mississippi to Alaska my mouth was spellbound; one sven day cruise from Seagway; Juneau, Glacier Bay, Anchorage, Fairbanks; love how travel is by seaplane or boat. Nature and not concrete with Walmart. Memories ABound.

  60. Roseann Kies
    June 12th, 2008 at 9:39 am

    I’d love to read this one! Thanks.

  61. Jean
    June 12th, 2008 at 10:34 am

    Would love to go! Thanks!

  62. Buddy Garrett
    June 12th, 2008 at 10:40 am

    I would love to visit Alasks. Taking a cruise would be a good way to experience Alaska.

  63. Peggy Gorman
    June 12th, 2008 at 11:03 am

    My son went to Alaska for his honeymoon and went fishing. The fish was sent back and it was wonderful!The halibut was out of this world , so different than what I get on the east coast. I would love to visit and take a cruise

  64. Heather's Habitat
    June 12th, 2008 at 11:52 am

    I think Alaska is so beautiful- if it wasn’t so cold there most of the time, I would move there in a second.

  65. Wendy
    June 12th, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    I love the Alaskan wildlife! And the fresh salmon!

  66. Mary Lou Rich
    June 12th, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    This looks like a great book. We have visited Alaska twice taking a trip up to Gates of the Artic and down to Seward. What a wonderful state!!

  67. Roger Deming
    June 12th, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    Alaska is great if you enjoy the outdoors and don’t suffer from cabin fever. You are stuck inside for quite a bit of the winter, but that is just life.

  68. Sandra
    June 12th, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    I would love to visit Alaska. I particularly want to see the blue ice of the glaciers. I have never been in an environment remotely like it. I’d also love to taste the sea food and to see the really wild areas. Maybe take a guided whitewater rafting tour down the Yukon. Yeah!

  69. ray davison
    June 12th, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    My parents took a cruise there and said it was one of the most beautiful places they ever went.

  70. K. Cleaver
    June 12th, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    My husband and I are planning a trip to Alaska in 2009 for our 15th wedding anniversary. We’re looking forward to it!

  71. Pamela White
    June 12th, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Alaska is rugged, beautiful and remote. We are planning our first trip and are anticipating a great time.

  72. kris
    June 12th, 2008 at 8:49 pm

    I have never been, but I recently read into the wild and it sounds like an amazing place!

  73. Carla Pullum
    June 12th, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    love to visit Alaska!!!

  74. Cindy
    June 12th, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    I want to visit Alaska as it is a harsh, but beautiful place. I read and watched “Into the Wild” and now, I want nothing more but to visit Alaska someday.

  75. Burton Bathrick
    June 12th, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Alaska is great

  76. Lily Kwan
    June 12th, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    I would love to visit Alaska someday. It sounds very peaceful and beautiful.

  77. kathy
    June 12th, 2008 at 11:34 pm

    I have been to Alaska and I love it there. I hope to be able to move there someday.I would enjoy reading this book of poetry about one of my favorite places.

  78. Friday Freebies: 11 Book Giveaways! « She is too fond of books …
    June 13th, 2008 at 11:00 am

    [...] Carp(e) libris reviews is giving away Bone Strings by Anne Coray. Comment here [...]

  79. John Hornbeck
    June 18th, 2008 at 10:21 am

    Hmmm. I was late finding this. Too bad.

    My wife and I strongly believe in expanding the horizons of our children and grandchildren, in part through travel. One of the most amazing things that we did for our son was to send him on an Outward-Bound trip to Alaska for his high school graduation present. Three weeks of being truly in the wilderness. Ocean kayaking, living in ice caves, ice climbing, and so on. There was a two week period of time where they didn’t see another human being outside their own small group.

    And yes, he still talks about the experience. Just Saturday, when he brought his wife and his own two children over to our house for Father’s Day, he starting discussing the experience. Alaska is truly a place to build memories.

    (By the way, I believe in Paying It Forward. All books that I receive through contests like this are donated to a library at a shelter home for women, after I read and review it myself.)

    Keep Reading
    John

  80. Jenny
    December 13th, 2008 at 2:22 am

    Thanks for such an important articles about Cruise. This is a very needed info about cruise because i want to book a nice cruise for my holiday.
    Thanks

  81. brenda walker
    December 16th, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Its a very interesting and cool post about Cruise. people are using online shopping to buy product.
    Thanks for your time to write this post.

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>